Pekalongan Batik Charm

DSC_0766Batik Qonita Pekalongan

Pekalongan is a city in the central java, located at the northen coast of the island. The reknown Pantura main road is going through this city. Pekalongan is an important harbour city and is famous for its Batik. For those who doesn’t know, Batik is indonesian traditional technique to color a piece of cloth. Nowadays, batik production has been heavily industrialized. In the past, however, everything was done by hands. Not only the technique of coloring is varied, there are also various features and patterns of Batik.

My mom loves Batik from Pekalongan. She actually can buy pekalongan batik in Jakarta. But of course it is better to buy something directly where it is produced. Not only the price is much cheaper, the variaty, design and pattern available are also more.

Batik can be found everywhere, in simple cotton pajamas which is perfect to wear for sleeping in tropic region and also in fancy party dresses and wedding dresses. The two still remaining Javanese kingdom, Solo and Yogja also uses batik extensively. One of the most exquisite and expensive types of batik is called batik ATBM. This is abbreviation of Alat tenun bukan mesin meaning these fabrics are woven carefully with tradional non machine loom. And because ATBM is definitely not mass production, the fabric should be one of a kind.

My mom’s favorite batik store is Qonita Store. The store is bright, comfortable and nicely decorated. They provide not only wooden chairs for the gents to seat while waiting for their spouses, they even provide local snacks. The snack is maybe for the children, but I happily eat it anyway because it is so delicious.

I found a very beautiful dress and I even try it. Of course I did not buy it because a) I cannot afford it haha b) I’m too big for the dress, I need a bigger size and they did not have it and c) I wouldn’t have an a occation where I can wear it. Because I live in Germany, there wouldn’t be much invitation to a party. Definitely not as much as at home. So the beautiful dress would be a waste if I bought it anyway. But it was a fun experience shopping batik in Pekalongan. And if you are interested, you can also go to a batik tour in that town. They will explain you the various techniques and the loom they produce atbm with and the meaning of different batik patterns. Because you see, ancient javanese rarely produce or design something without any meaning behind it.

DSC_0746Batik Qonita Pekalongan

Kebaya

beautiful Kebaya (Indonesia traditional woman blouse) with batik skirt

ATBM

ATBM batik

Batik Qonita Pekalongan

Colorful

Colorful fabrics

Pattern

Batik with various ornate pattern

Mini becak, a local transportation as little decorations

Mini becak, a local transportation as little decorations

nice decoration at the shop

nice decoration at the shop

Me and my father eating snacks

Me and my father eating snacks

my favorite gown

my favorite gown

