Helgoland Island, a peacefful weekend getaway

So I went to helgoland island with my classmates, a small island in the northen Germany in the north see. Mainly, it is a research base for marine biology for AWI, Frauenhofer and other institutes. It is also a good place to retreat from the busy daily worklife and just enjoy the beach, the cliffs, the wind and the sea for a long weekend. It takes several hours to reach there by ferry, depending from where you depart and the size and speed of the ferry. Ours took about 3 hours from Bremerhaven if I’m not mistaken. The ferry ride was pretty awful for me, because I’m not really used to travelling by ship and the wave was pretty strong and I got seasick. I was so happy to finally see the white beach and get off the ferry. The island is small, you can spend 1 whole day and you can already discover almost everything on there, But it is a nice, tranquil island,

DSC00053

sea bird on the cliff

DSC00057

serenity

DSC00058

a very unique sclupture

???????????????????????????????

stern of the ferry

DSC00685

not the best translation, but well, you know what it means

DSC00700

a crater of 5000kg bomb

DSC00712

the cliff, home of hundreds of birds

DSC00037

football field

DSC00714 DSC00716 DSC00724 DSC00740 DSC00719 DSC00742

