Berlin Festival of Lights

Berlin festival of lights 2014

Berlin festival of lights 2014

Berlin is quite a significant city in my life. When I decided to study in Germany and finally got the permission from my parents, I stayed in Berlin for about one and a half month to learn German. I was 17 at that time and did not know how the world works (I still don’t know lol). Even I finished the preparation school (Studienkolleg) in Dessau in saxony Anhalt, I moved back to Berlin. This time I learned english for my application for an international study course for about one semester.

I like Berlin. It is a big dynamic and colorful city. You would hear people talking in English and Spanish more often than German in the city center. Berlin is charming with it’s Berlin wall, Brandenburger gate, and the cathedrals. However, what attracts me the most is that you can find a lot of chinese/vietnamese/indonesian/indian restaurants with quite authentic tastes unlike what I found here in Bremen where the taste is already adjusted to German palate.

Berliner Dom

Berliner Dom

Since I moved to Bremerhaven for my studies I rarely visited Berlin again. The last time I was in Berlin before was in 2011 with parents and my sister in the new year’s eve. We wanted to see the fireworks but my sister got sick. So I end up watching the fireworks from Berlin main station with my father while my mom was staying at the hotel with my sister.

Two weeks ago, I visited a very dear friend of mine in Berlin. She just moved back to Berlin after finishing her study. I stayed there for the weekend and the thing we do when we are together is always visiting different restaurants. I am happy when I am with her because she is a very good friend and she alwas knows where and what to eat lol.

We can talk on and on about food and restaurants in Berlin but I originally only want to share the pictures of the festival of lights. Look at all this detour lol. Anyway I was really lucky because that weekend is the opening of the festival of lights in Berlin. They project lights with different colors and pattern to famous buildings and in the past they lighted up the trees as well, but sadly not this time. If i had known about the festival before I would have taken my camera. Hence I captured the moment only with my phone camera that does not necessarily performed the best under low light condition.

Please correct me if I’m wrong, Berlin festival of light is a yearly event. I think they also have it in other city like Ghent. The building we visited that weekend were Humboldt university, Berlin cathedral, Brandenburger gate. My favorite one is the cathedral, no surprise there.

Humboldt university in the afternoon

Humboldt university in the afternoon

Humbolt university, the same building at night

Humbolt university, the same building at night

IMG_20141011_224300

20141011_230922_LLS

love in different languages ‘Cinta’ on the top left is in indonesian ❤

20141011_230217_LLS 20141011_230348_LLS 20141011_230557_LLS 20141011_230734_LLS 20141011_230836_LLS 20141011_231249_LLS 20141011_231359_LLS

festival of lights @Humboldt university

festival of lights @Humboldt university

Berliner dom

Berliner dom

berlin cathedral closed up

berlin cathedral closed up

The night was beautiful and we had a nice weather. Unfortunately, there was construction works in Unten den Linden area, They’re probably building another subway line. Maybe that’s why the trees there were not lit up. It was nice and pretty romantic indeed. Make sure to take a walk around the city center on October in Berlin when it is not yet too cold and the building is colorful!

